New Year’s Resolutions

squirrel-chill

New Year’s Resolutions

Can’t ever seem to follow them, can’t ever seem to stop making them.

New Years is a symbolic time, when we flip over that new calendar page to reveal a bright shiny new year, unblemished by the hangover of toils and tribulations and all the baggage of the last year.  It’s a brand new year, a do-over of sorts, when we get a fresh start.  So naturally, all that bleeping optimism leads us to make New Year’s resolutions, that if we are being realistic, we know we aren’t going to keep.

But, when turning over that new calendar page, optimism gets hold of me and I can’t help myself; I make resolutions in January that will be blown all to heck by February.

I made all the ubiquitous ones:  Lose weight; blog more; be nicer to squirrels; exercise; make friends with Twitter; finish that WIP…

All the ones I made last year and didn’t follow through with.

So I asked myself what the problem was?  Why can’t I follow through on all those lovely good intentions?

The problem isn’t my work ethic. I don’t have a problem with hard work.  There could be a whole host of psychological factors, perfectionism, procrastination, fear of failure, fear of success, fear of squirrels, fear of successful perfect squirrels…

But I think what it comes down to is a lack of focus.  I joke about having too many plates spinning at one time, and being like the circus clown trying to keep them all from crashing down, and that’s not too far from the truth. (Especially the clown hair that goes with the image.)

I do a pretty good job keeping things spinning most days, but at the end, I haven’t made much progress toward goals.  I feel like an eight horse hitch with all the horses pulling in a different direction.  Lots of work, not much progress.

So, this year, I decided in addition to making a detailed list I would work on a concept for the year. 

FOCUS.

(with a nod to Jennifer Grayson who got me thinking about this)

I do have lots of goals, but this year I’m going to narrow my focus to a few of them, and ask myself if the action I’m doing now helps to move me forward to that goal and the end result.

So how does that fit into blogging?  One of the key goals I have for 2013 is to devote more time to building relationships both here in the cyber world and out there in the real world.  There are a lot of really cool people out there and I miss interacting with you.

Thanks for stopping by, and if you have any tips on maintaining focus throughout the trials and tribulations of daily life, I’d love to hear them.

That and if you have any tips for getting a squirrel out of your ceiling tile.  I’m not joking.  Maybe if I could teach the little varmint to spin plates in a clown suit…

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Lora Bailey says:

    As to the squirrel – maybe if you leave a trail of peanut butter covered nuts that lead to a live trap. Once caught, then you can close up his entry way before letting him find a suitable new residence.

    I set a ton of goals this year, as I do every year. But, this year is different. I shared my goals with a ton of people that will do what I obviously cannot – keep me on task. Good luck!

  2. I’ll send you my Jack Russell and that squirrel won’t bother you again. Of course, he’ll be dead and it might be gross, but Zora loves to chase squirrels. And eat them. It’s gross.

    Great job on focusing! That’s a huge one for me. I totally feel like you do ~ too many plates spinning in the air. Here’s something I do each day that seems to help…

    At night, before I go to bed, I make up a list of 5 things I want to accomplish the next day. In order of importance. If I get through the list, great! If not, then what didn’t get done moves to the top priority the next day. I’m too good at leaving stuff on lists forever and they never get done.

    Five seems to be the lucky number. Any less and I think it’s not worth it, any more and I get overwhelmed. Since I’ve started doing this, my list gets finished almost every day.

    Good luck with it and I hope 2013 means more writing for you!

  3. Callene Rapp says:

    I like the five thing. I try to keep a list that is managable, but there is a lot of squirrel creep some days.

    You will be happy to know that one of my main goals is to finish my WIP and I think I’ve gotten it broken down into baby steps I can cram into my plate spinning days. Went through a self inflicted funk but I found my big girl panties when cleaning out the closet, and whatdayaknow, they still fit!

    So, hopefully soon I will be pressing you for that beta read! In the meantime thanks for stopping by! Mwaah!

  4. Yves Potter says:

    I was going to suggest the peanut butter trap too. Or maybe some wild bird seed might temp him out. There could be worse things up above…think ‘Stephen King’ novel here…write a piece about the varmint and sell it. Make him work for you. Imagine the video…squirrel spins plates in return for peanuts!
    I like Tameri’s idea of a restricted list. I’m going to try it right now. Keep your fingers crossed that it will work for me, fellow perfectionists!

Leave a Reply

