Farmer’s Market Visit

I haven’t visited a farmer’s market for a couple of years now.

Not because I’m a snob or anything, but because we usually put up enough garden to keep me busy most of the summer.  Usually by now I’m so darned sick of canning that I’m actually thinking fondly about the first frost.

But this year…

Well, it hasn’t been kind to say the least.

It stopped raining sometime in May. In June, the heat ramped up, and July has been the hottest one on record since that pleasant little time in history known as the Dust Bowl.  Ah, fond memories.

Oh, and then the grasshoppers came.

So, what the heat didn’t get has been consumed by the little scissor jaws of those plague refugees.  The tomatoes have been trying, but any blooms either got eaten or went dormant in the heat before they could produce any fruit.  My one melon plant has  been the star of the garden.  Let’s not even talk about the potatoes and onions.

So for the first time in a long time, I don’t have any tomatoes. To the farmer’s market I go.

I found some lovely tomatoes, some really cute eggplant and a couple of squash that called my name, and next to the tomatoes were…

The peaches.

I’ve been craving fruit lately, likely the result  of being deprived in my own garden. So I went literally on point like a bird dog in tall grass when I spotted them. I apologize to the little old lady who got the brunt of my elbow.

I circled them, sniffing, warily, having been burnt before badly by grocery store fruit.

But dang, they looked good.  Fuzzy, imperfect little golden red orbs that promised ultimate peachiness.  Did I dare?

Oh, yeah.

I thought tasting all of them might be bad form, so I settled for passing my hand over them, trying to asses their mojo telepathically.  Failing that, I picked up several of them to test their weight, their firmness, their…peachiness.

I was starting to draw a few strange looks, so I grabbed a half dozen of them, collected my tomatoes and other veggie allies, and checked out.

I have a forty minute drive home.  I didn’t make it five minutes before those peaches started calling to me from that little plastic bag on the passenger seat next to me.  I resisted for a while.

Like thirty seconds.

I actually ran a red light because to stop might mean braking too quickly and spilling all that produce onto the floorboard of the car.  I threw out my hand in the Parental Red Light Fling, but once I got my hand on the bag, I sort of never let go.

What can I say, I have no will power.

But, if that peach is really all it promises in peachiness, eating one in the car would likely be a juicy, sticky mess.  But what if they weren’t all that good?  Disappointment warred with optimism and hope and the desire to not have to clean my seats.

Oh, daheckwidit!

I grabbed one and dove in.

And wasn’t disappointed in the least.  That peach was everything it’s farmer’s market heritage promised, juicy in that tartsweet, complex way any fruit that hasn’t been ripened by some god-awful chemical means should be.  Fuzzy and tickly, it was just about the best thing I’ve tasted in weeks.

Oh, and did I mention juicy?

What do you know, it is physically impossible to lick your own elbow. I tried, much to the alarm of the lady in the lane next to me.

I ate that peach with the relish of a starving woman and managed to not trash my car seats in the process.

Now, what about those tomatoes….Okay, that might be pressing my luck a bit.

But I’ll definitely have to go back next week and see what the farmer’s market has to offer! I should just be out of peaches by then.

Do any of you shop at farmer’s markets? Or grow your own garden?  Does it beat what you can get at the UltraMegaMartChain stores or not?  Tell me what you think, and hugs for dropping by!

Callene (heading to the shower to remove the last dregs of…peachiness!)

7 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Visit

  1. Oooooooh, I love my Farmer’s Markets. I happen to live in a semi-agricultural area (weird, I know since I live in a suburb of San Diego) and we get super fresh strawberries starting in April. It’s a little like your peaches – we go to this place where we can pick our own and they never make it home.
    Fresh from the farm produce is just so much better than store bought. Hands down.
    And yeah, who knew you couldn’t lick your own elbow!?!? That’s hysterical.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      I know, right? I keep a flock of chickens just so I don’t have to suffer through grocery store eggs. I’m jonesing for some strawberries now, though! They sound yummy.

      I think California is pretty progressive about having garden spots in what would otherwise be mostly urban areas. Lucky you! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Hartford says:

    In the city I live, we have a farmer’s market that is extremely popular. Saturday mornings it’s filled with hundreds of people who bustle around getting farm fresh veggies and fruit, fresh meats and fish, and peruse the local artisan gems and bobbles. Not to mention you can pick up your brunch from any number of unique food vendors. It’s a great place to meet up with friends and family while you stock up on your groceries. And you support local farmers to boot. It’s all good!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      I work most Saturdays, so the Wednesday afternoon market is the one I have to hit. I’m a little jealous that you can get meats and fish at yours! It must be pretty good sized. Where are you located?

  3. I could taste those peaches! The visual of you attempting to lick your elbow while driving made me laugh out loud. I lived in the country for 15 years and farmer’s markets were part of our weekly shopping – love them! While we are in France for the summer, we go to our local farmers’ market daily and plan our meals as we stroll. Enjoy those peaches and let us know what treat the next trip brings!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      LOL! It was pretty funny. I love the European philosophy of buying fresh and enjoying it that day. It elevates the food to the level of art, rather than just a meal. I’m scoping out the melons next visit to the farmer’s market. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I’ve never been to the Farmer’s Market but now I have to go. I hope ours have peaches juicy enough to give me the excuse to give the elbow licking a try! Lol.

Leave a Reply

