ROW 80 Check in

I’m a day late, but still chugging away!

I had a rough week at work this last week.  I feel like I got thrown under a bus.  Actually, I feel like I got thrown under a bus being pulled by a train, and followed by a dogsled carrying a load of angry howler monkeys.

I have met my writing goal of the 80 words daily though,  but I did use my writing time one day last week to write out a three page manifesto of why I thought our CEO had made one of the most craptacular decisions of all time.  Yes, I signed it and gave it to him.  Yes, I still have a job.

If Stephen Pressfield is right, and the closer you get to the thing you are actually meant to do, the more the universe pukes up obstacles in your path, then this writing gig is mine, LOL!

If you haven’t read Pressfield’s War of Art, I can’t recommend it enough.  I think I may run to my poor local Borders over lunch and see if I can still find any of his fiction. Buying books always makes me feel better.

Do any of you have any strategies for keeping in the groove when life hands you lemons?  Or any good lemonade recipes that work well with rum when nothing else works?  I’d love to hear about them.  Especially the strategies. Okay, the recipes.

Take care, folks and thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “ROW 80 Check in

  1. Hartford says:

    Ouch – sucks to have a week like that. Sometimes I find that kind of giving in for a day or so can help. Find some time to curl up and read a book that takes you away to another world. Go for a long, slow walk somewhere serene to help fill you with peace. Have a picnic in a park and just people watch for a couple of hours. Sometimes disconnecting from the stress of it all stops the snowball effect in your mind and helps you gain perspective.
    If not…the mantra “this too shall pass…” brings me comfort!
    Hang in there – there’s always next week!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Thanks, Natalie. You are right, it does get to be a snowball effect, and your mind just won’t let it go. I think I will take your advice, both the long walk and the mantra, and see if it helps! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. C.M. Cipriani says:

    I’m working with lemons right now too. Really feeling the overwhelm. Which isn’t good because I’ve been slacking off for almost 2 weeks with other things and *still* not getting other things done. Maybe I need a reboot? They do that right?

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Hey, Crystal! I think a reboot is exactly what is called for. Sometimes you have to get out of your own way, I think, and take a deep breath, otherwise the overwhelm will get to you. I know that’s where I’m at right now. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Lemons are wonderful with vodka, in a margarita, as a nice pie with or without merengue.

    Sorry your week was rough. I like Natalie’s suggestion – go find a nice place to curl up and be peaceful. Do anything you want or nothing at all. Just be still and with yourself. That always refreshes me, because in about 10 minutes I’m tired of being with myself and I want to get back to causing chaos in my fantasy novel. Works every time.

    A dogsled with howler monkeys slays me. I’ll be laughing at that one all day.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Thanks, Tameri. I appreciate everyone’s tips and sympathy, I know we’ve all had days like that. I think I’m more upset for my staff, who got caught up in all the changes. You can do whatever you want to me, but don’t mess with my family, lol! Lemon merangue pie sounds wonderful right now, doesn’t it?

  4. Ah, those sour ball days always teach us something, if only to realize we can’t fix everything. We must do what we can, and accept what we cannot change. Hard for those of us managing home and work. But when we are in the middle of a muddle, that doesn’t comfort us much … only in retrospection can we see it.

    So what I try to do is put the brakes on, and as the others have said, relax doing your favorite thing. Music, walk, swim, visit a friend, paint a picture, read a book … and if none of those work, a damn good cry cleanses the soul! Taking a day of sick leave is legit for restoration of the soul!

    Years ago, offering to help out while a small hospital couldn’t find a Director of Nursing Services, I filedl in until they found someone. Trouble is, they stopped looking! Commuting 60 miles, raising three wonderful girls, I finally hit the wall, told them I could no longer see the names on the schedule, was totally burned out, and it would be better if they knew there was no one in the Director’s chair, rather than think the post was functional! And amidst their vehement protests that I couldn’t resign without notice, I walked away. Not a career building choice, but nevertheless, one of the best decisions I made. Fortunately, my husband could support us for a while until I found a job I could handle.

    It sounds like you are an advocate for your staff. They are fortunate to have you. By now, your funcky day will have passed, but thanks for sharing that we are all a part of this human community, doing the best we can. Hugs.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Thank you, Marion. For both the anecdote, and the advice. I’ve been in a period of personal growth for the last year, and you are right, these nasty days teach us so much more than the good ones.

      Hugs back to you.

Leave a Reply

