Food for Thought Friday

Welcome to the first edition of Food for Thought Friday!

As many of you may know, as a farmer, food in all it’s edible deliciousness is very important to me; including the issues regarding production, consumption and above all, health.

But Food for Thought can also encompass a lot of other things, things that make you go “hmmm…”

This first post falls into the later category.  This article has some interesting points, some of which I agree with absolutely, and others I’m not entirely convinced of, but it definitely makes you go “hmmm….” after reading it.

14 Signs that the Collapse of our Modern World has Already Begun

It kind of made me think the next project for us may be a bee colony.

On a lighter and cuter note,  Hurricane Irene has a cute new namesake!  Anytime a domestic born in a zoo makes the national news its chest thumping time for me.

And speaking of domestics born in zoos, welcome to our new baby Poitou donkey here at the Sedgwick County Zoo!  Now thats some snugglerifficness there!  The Poitou is one of the rarest breeds of livestock in the world, and we are the only zoo in North America that has successfully bred and raised them.

Baby Poitou foal!

Hope you all have a fabulous holiday weekend.  And if any of you want to join me in my new beekeeping venture, give me a shout!

Callene

9 thoughts on “Food for Thought Friday

  1. Linda Burke says:

    Cute picture. Blog looks Good.

  2. I love the little baby donkey, but that article was a bit inflammatory. I get what it’s saying, but I felt pummeled by the end of reading it.

    Still, I’m rethinking my home garden to add not only chickens, but bees as well.

    Thanks for an intriguing post!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Oh, don’t get me wrong, I totally think the guy could use a big hug and some warm milk and cookies! He’s a bit too edgy for me for sure, but I’m fascinated by the whole 2012 concept, and I really believe we are living in a transitional time. I think we need a big reality check and a return to some of our roots in community (like what we have done with WANA711) and being able to take care of ourselves and each other.

      But if I’ve made you think bees, I’m a happy camper!

  3. tamikaeason says:

    Great post Callene! I’m off to educate my husband with all this new information. I hope it makes me look smart:)

    What a precious little animal!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Thank you, Tamika! It is definitely intended as discussion producing info. No clue whether it’s right or wrong, but hopefully food for thought!

      I wish you guys could feel the coat on that little fuzzy donkey, it’s to die for!

  4. Baby Irene and the Poitou donkey are so cute. I’m glad Irene and her mom came through the flooding ok.

    Um, I’m allergic to bees or at least there’s enough of a question about that it would be prudent not to be involved with raising them. I think it’s a fascinating hobby and it will be interesting to hear how it works out for you.

    Thanks for the fourteen reasons the world is ending article. Like you I don’t agree with everything but it is an interesting read.

    Love your new heading and look. I have dozens of pictures of dogs, cats, rabbits eyes. What I see there is fascinating to me. I’m pretty sure if I had to look a chicken or turkey in the eye I’d never eat poultry again (I’m already anti beef and pork).

  5. Love the Baby Irene picture, although that’s about as close to a donkey as I want to get. (Just ask my Animal Science daughter who wants me to get excited about wool evaluation and judging. Ah!)

    Clicked over to the article, but didn’t linger so I don’t know if I agree or disagree with the author. That type of article overwhelms me and I feel hopeless so I tend to click away quickly. I do have friends who spend a lot of time on these issues, and respect that these are serious times and we may soon be reeling from the effects of the consequences of our irresponsibility as a society.

    I think your post is aptly named: it *is* food for thought.🙂

    • Callene Rapp says:

      LOL! Send your daughter my way, we could have some fun conversations that would probably be excruciatingly dull to anyone else! What’s her favorite sheep breed? I’m an AnSci girl myself, go figure.

      It’s intersting that type of article makes you feel hopeless. Not my intention, but I do think education and finding ways to empower ourselves by taking a little bit of control over our future is important, and you have to turn over a few rocks to see what you’re up against.

      Thanks so much for stopping by, and I really would love to talk wool with your daughter sometime!

      Callene

Leave a Reply

