So there were these goats, you see…

And they were in New York.  Which is not a problem, except I needed them to be in Kansas.  And Dorothy and Toto were not around with a handy spot tornado.  What to do.

Let me back up a minute.

I work as a zookeeper, literally.  I am employed by a large zoo in Kansas which does not like to be discussed outside of the proper PR loop, so I will not name names.  ( any third grader with basic google skills can figure it out, but at least I did not violate the policy. Nyeah!)

One of the first questions anyone asks me when they find out I work in a zoo is:  What animals do you work with?

And they are invariably disappointed to find out:

Cows.  Sheep.  Horses. Donkeys.  Goats. Chickens.

Domestic animals.  In a zoo.

Yep.  Damn straight, baby!

And you may be surprised to find out that some of the breeds of domestic livestock I work with are so rare and endangered that they make lions and tigers and rhinos oh my look plentiful and superfluous.

Livestock?  Endangered?  Nah!

Yeah.

While I’m the first person to agree that you can’t swing a cat in Kansas without hitting a cow, those cows don’t represent the total picture of the diversity contained in the bovine species.

For a quick tutorial on breed vs. species written by the super cool Callene Rapp,  visit here.

Still with me? Awesome.

So, while you can swing the same cat in Kansas and hit any number of goats, you will likely never hit an Arapawa Island Goat.    (If you do, please get me the contact info for the goat.   We need to talk. )

The aforementioned unnamed zoo has one of the few herds of Arapawa Island Goats in the US.  And those goats were starting to swim in a shallow gene pool if you get my drift.

We needed new blood, but all the other herds of goats are waaayy on the other side of the Mississippi.   I had a good friend in NY who was willing to sell me some nice goats, but they were in New. York.

And a road trip to NY was out of the question.  Mostly because my roids wouldn’t take it.

Now, my greatest skill in life is to be able to fall into a steaming pile of crap and come out smelling like roses.  I just happened to make a random contact with a transporter who was making a trip within 20 miles of my goats, and offered to bring them back to their place for free.  Yep, free.  No strings attached, except for an elephant meet and greet when they are in the area.  Yeah, even livestock people think elephants are cool.  Whatever.

But their place was in southern Missouri.

And we had to get them from point A to point B.

And therein lies the real adventure!

Stay tuned…. ;o)

5 thoughts on “So there were these goats, you see…

  1. Callene! I must have missed your zookeeper info the first time around … or I’m having a senior moment. How cool. I really like domestic animals too … but would give anything for an elephant meet and greet too … Can’t wait to hear how this all works out!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      No, I’m not sure I mentioned it. Definately not a senior moment for you! I generally like to keep my two jobs separate (easier to compartmentalize the voices that way) but the goat story is pretty funny. Hope to continue it on Friday, rest of the world pending.

  2. Ahhhh! I need to know what happened to the goats and the aforementioned unnamed zoo.

    What a cool job.

  3. Callene Rapp says:

    Tameri, that post will hopefully be up Wednesday or Thursday!

    Stay tuned!

  4. Hartford says:

    A zookeeper – how FABULOUS!
    I am with Tameri, I must find out what happened to the goats and the aforementioned unnamed zoo. The suspense is killing me?!??!?!?! I hope they made out ok!
    WHAT a cool job! Do you totally luv it???

Leave a Reply

