I’m BAAA-CK!!!!

Did ya miss me? Did ya miss me?  Huh? Huh? Huh?  Did ya?

 

Yes, I was gone.  ;o)

 

I missed a week in preparation for the ALBC conference, which with the help of some of my zoopeeps, I hosted and helped coordinate.  And, everything went quite well, in spite of a couple of minor glitches, which of course go hand in hand with anything called “an event”.

The coolest part?  My husband and I won the Bixby-Sponenberg award for conservation of rare breeds of livestock.  This award is the pinnacle of achievement in rare breed conservation in the country.  I always hoped to win it someday, I just figured I had about a decade to go before I reached the level of coolness required.

So yeah, it was one of about three times in my life I’ve been at a loss for words.  And of course, Eric makes me give the thanks speech.

ALBC also gave the zoo a special award for being a great conservation partner, and it was awesome to be able to share it with my zoopeeps Lish and Danny.   Who also made me give the thanks speech.  Hmmmm.  I’m starting to see a pattern…

Anyway, it was one of the best weeks of my life, and I figured I deserved a week off after to revive my fried synapses.

But, I’ve been missing you all, and anxious to catch up.  I’ve been missing my ROW sis, Barbara!  And I’m sure Natalie has come up with something that will make me spit my coffee all over my computer screen.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving, and give me a shout and let me know how it went!

Hugs!

7 thoughts on “I’m BAAA-CK!!!!

  1. Callene – congratulations to you and your hubby and the rest of your zoopeeps for the awards! How exciting! You should do a post about your zoo and the conservation work you do. Please!

  2. Congrats on the ahhhmazing award. How AWESOME is that. I am so happy for you and can only imagine how wonderful it felt to be recognized for all your important and hard work. Soooo proud of you!!
    Looking forward to your posts to come and thanks for the FAB shout out – hope I don’t disappoint. LOL!!!

  3. Totally missed you! Totally glad you’re back and can’t wait to hear more fun adventures from you!!

    Congrats on the zoo award. You totally rock those animals’ worlds!

  4. Nancy J Nicholson says:

    Congratulation Callene and yes you deserved the week off. Look forward to seeing you more. Keep up the good conservation work.

Leave a Reply

