Dragging myself into the 21st century….

Let’s just say, technology is not my friend.  I’m very grudgingly following my  much younger peers into the modern world, or rather I’m dragging myself step by bloody step.

I mean, I do appreciate modern conveniences like cell phones, computers and the internet (wouldn’t know all of you without that one!) and I love DVDs, but technology has really seemed to leave me in the dust the last few years.  I think far too fondly some days about growing up in a blink-stop of a small town, when phone service was an old rotary dial phone and a party line. (And if you remember those, give me a high five!) Gossip was found at the beauty shop or the coffee shop, not on twitter, and you more often than not actually had to talk to someone face to face to get your point across.  I’m not really comfortable with the modern world some days.

And I think technology knows I don’t always like it and it wants to pay me back.

No, really.

I got my first smart phone the other day.  I was just fine with my dumb phone for a long time, but I got sucked into the coolness of the portable wi-fi hotspot on the HTC inspire.  And it was pretty!  It was RED!  A Radio Shack exclusive!!  Yeah, I didn’t do a whole lot of wi-fi-ing but I had a FREE UPGRADE and apparently I’m as easily hooked and landed as a striped bass.

So we went to our local Radio Shack, picked out the phone, paid the man (because nothing is ever truly free) and went on our way.

To make a long story short, I couldn’t make the portable WiFi hotspot work to save my life.  I could get internet on the phone, but couldn’t translate it to my computer.  An hour and a half on the phone with ATT, and hour and a half in the store with a service rep, and we all eventually agreed, yep, it’s not working, and nope, we’ve never seen anything like this before.  Comforting.  At least it wasn’t the on-off switch that let me down.

So, back we go to Radio Shack, me with my notes from ATT, quietly, politely insisting I get a new phone, because NOTHING anyone did had helped.

The kid looks at my phone, does a few things on the store computer, digs out a store laptop and tries the WiFi.  I’m trying not to look smug, after all, that would be rude, right?

After a few minutes the kid looks up and says:  “It’s working.”

Are you freaking kidding me?

Nope, it was working plain as day.  Apparently I had just talked to the wrong techno-nerds previously.

I’m pretty suspicious that the minute I take it out of the store it’s going to quit, so I made the kid, who was watching me somewhat warily because when I get frustrated I come off a little…intense is a good word; promise that if it didn’t work I could bring it back up with my laptop and beat him over the head and shoulders with it.

And of course, it worked.  And has been working ever since.

So the nerds at Radio Shack are apparently the go-to guys.

Now, I’ve been saving for weeks to get my first Kindle.  I realize that the digital e-book world is indeed the wave of the future, and while you will never pry paper books out of my cold dead hands, the convenience of carrying 40 or 50 books around in something that weighs less than my socks is pretty appealing.  And trying to read a book on the computer in bed is just not…well, it just isn’t.

So, back we went to Radio Shack.  And seriously, what are the odds of having two pieces of technology purchased in 34 days fail miserably?

Apparently pretty damn high.

I get the Kindle, get it home and charge it up, and am taking it and the laptop to work the next day to have my bud, Lish, who has the exact same model, help me figure it out and transfer the e-books from the puter.  I’m waiting to clock in, thought I’d start going through the user guide and guess freakin what:

It freezes up.

Rock solid.

Can’t even shut the damn thing off.

Nutin’.

Lish can’t even figure it out.  Once again, I have made a piece of technology do something no one else has seen it do.

By now you know the drill:  Phone call to Radio Shack, phone call to Amazon, and I’m back in the Radio Shack store.  Only wasted about ten minutes this time before I headed back to the Shack. Radio Shack is trying to get me a refund figured out, because I basically have a paperweight right now and I’m on the phone with the store manager, who by now I’m on a first name basis with, when the techno-nerd says:

“It’s working.”

OMGareyoukiddingme?

She said she tried the same reset used for a Blackberry, but I think she just got lucky.  But whatever.

It was working.

Ah, but not perfectly, it froze up on me a few more times, but I could get it restarted.  However, I didn’t pay this much money for something that needs to be rebooted in the middle of a page turn, so I called my BFF at Radio Shack, and she said they will order me a new one.

But apparently the little demons in the Kindle heard the conversation and decided life wasn’t so bad in my purse.

Ever since I got off the phone from ordering the new one the damn thing has been working perfectly.   I carried it around all day at work, snuck up on it a few times trying to catch it in a freeze, shrieked “boo!” at it on one occasion,  but… it’s working perfectly.  Why?  Ellifiknow. But I did manage to download Kristen Lamb’s We Are Not Alone onto the device in one of it’s previous not frozen moments. Coincidence?

Yep, technology.

Hubby thinks it the 22 inches of solid titanium residing in my right tibia that is messing my technology up by creating some sort of force field.  I think “The Terminator” (the original one, the one with the awesome storyline instead of the overwrought special effects) is actually autobiographical and these things have little tiny brains and know they are messing with me and laughing about it.

We’ll see….

How about you all?  Have  you had any fun or not so fun experiences with technology?  Share with me, and if the entire internet hasn’t decided to play games with me, we can chat about it!

Take care and hugs to you all!

9 thoughts on “Dragging myself into the 21st century….

  1. I shouldn’t laugh, but I did. I haven’t had it quite as bad with technology, though I do know the feeling of having something happen that no one can make sense of. Usually it’s my health. 😛

    I couldn’t get my Kindle to connect when I first got it, either. I will never touch an iPhone. And I miss the days of VHS tapes. DVDs are fine, but now it’s all about Blu-ray. Pft.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Don’t worry, I laughed. Which was part of what made the techno-nerds a bit fearful of me! But it’s no fun to have mysterious things happen with your health, the technology I at least can throw away.

      I hear you on the Blu-ray. I haven’t even tried to wrap my head around that one.

  2. Lesann says:

    That was hilarious! I’m laughing with you though.

    I commiserate…have been down that same road. There are days it feels like I missed the memo on a decade’s worth of technology and have that deer-in-the-headlights look when someone asks me “whatcha think about the new mini braindrain gizmo?” and I’m wracking my brain trying to figure out what they just said when they move on to a review of some other bit of technogadegetry I’ve not heard of either.

    Good luck with your new toys! Smart phones are actually quite useful (do not trust the GPS), and eReaders are lovely for portability.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      I know, right? Everything is so five minutes ago.

      I already do not trust GPS. Give me a good old fashioned map and a general sense of direction and I can navigate anywhere.

      I’ve made peace with the smartphone and while I haven’t figured out everything it will do, it does have an awesome music player!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I love technology. I really do. I just wish it was more intuitive to work. Every time I get anything new, I spend the first year shoving it at my husband and asking him to “fix it.” And just when I get it all figured out, it’s so outdated that I need a new one.

    As for funny stories, I once had a GPS tell me to drive off a cliff. We were up on the side of a mountain in Australia, and it told us to turn left, but left was a sheer drop. I can’t imagine what we’d done to it that it wanted to kill us, but it gave it its best shot🙂

  4. Callene Rapp says:

    OMG, that reminds me of that “Mayhem” commercial where the faulty GPS turns the guy right into the side of another car! Only with more disastrous consequences!

    I’m telling you, those things are determined to rule the world!

    Thanks for stopping in, and watch those mountainsides!

  5. Oh girl, I feel your pain! Hubby says that I have some sort of force field around me that sets off technology everywhere I go. And I LOVE technology. If there’s a new gadget out, I want it. And I have no issue playing around with stuff to learn and figure it out but I…always end up with some of the craziest stories of issues. Like you, I have just succumb to physically taking stuff right back to the store and having the tech wizards fix it for me. LOL!!!
    I am glad to hear you got everything working and that you’ve moved to Kindle World – I LOVE mine!🙂 Enjoy…
    And heck, take the new one, just in case…hehehe…

  6. Naomi Bulger says:

    We give all our technology woes to our 12 year old daughter. She has them fixed in the blink of an eye! Just the other day, Mr B and I were saying, “Remember when the Internet was new?” We had to have lessons at work to be taught how to do this thing called “surfing” and send “e-mail.” At least I’ve got those two figured out. Mostly.

  7. I have a saying, “I kill technology”, but I think you are now the Queen Technology Killer. I bow to you, my Queen!

    Somedays, I love technology, but others, not so much. Unlike Natalie, I do not feel the need to try out every new gadget, but my husband does. And usually on me. Because, you know, he’s a sadist.

Leave a Reply

