TBR Pile Challenge 2012

I ran across this challenge tripping about some cool blogs, and it looks like just the thing I need to get me through some of the books in my stupendously tottering TBR pile.  The hard part was committing to just twelve, cuz there’s literally a whole corner of an entire room taken up by my TBR pile. And I spend way too much time trying to decide what to read, so hopefully this will condense things a bit.

For more info, and if  you want to join the challenge, go to The Roof Beam Reader‘s blog.

I’ve got a mix of fiction and non fiction.  Looking forward to my first TBR pile challenge, and here’s my list!

Cajun Racing by Ed McNamara

The Nature of Horses by Stephen Budiansky

Horse Breeding in the Medieval World by Charles Gladitz

Animals in Translation by Temple Grandin

The Byerly Turk by Jeremy James

Myths of Greece and Rome by Thomas Bullfinch

The Rebel Prince by Celine Kiernan  completed 1/13/2012

Shattering by Cary Fowler

The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinnley

Graceling by Kristen Cashore  completed 3/7/2012

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin  completed 3/31/12

Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffrey

Alternates:

Horse Soldiers by Doug Stanton

The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollen

13 thoughts on “TBR Pile Challenge 2012

  1. Sounds like an interesting TBR pile. IGood luck with making your goal. I’m behind too on my reading, so maybe I should take a close look at your link too.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Thanks, Bridgette. It sounded do-able, and forced me to make a decision about a list I would have to stick with, so it looked like it would be good. Let me know if you join in, we can hold each other’s hands if the going gets tough!

  2. Good idea! Sometimes we need a push to set aside reading time. I joined a couple of online book clubs and that has done the job for me. Best of luck with the TBR pile. Read on!

  3. Fantastic idea to prioritize your list. I am finding my Kindle loaded full of books to read from many of my new found indie authors so I’ve got to get AT it! It’ll be a full year of reading and writing but it’s so fun!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Awesome! And I got my Kindle replaced, so I’ll have to remember to keep my priorities straight and not get distracted by all the shiney new….SQUIRREL!!!

      Sorry. Easily distracted.

  4. Glad you’re joining us for the 2012 TBR Pile Challenge!

    You’ve got a nice looking list, here. I actually haven’t heard of most of these books (aside from The Omnivore’s Dilemma and Game of Thrones, of course). I’m looking forward to reading yoru reviews and seeing what these books are all about.

    Good luck!

  5. I’ve heard of this 12 books a year TBR pile thingy and I like the idea. My plan is to read one craft book and one pleasure book every two weeks. So, that would be 48 books next year. Wow! That’s a lot. I might have to rethink that… ; )

    Good luck on your reading goals. Keep us updated on your progress.

  6. […] of put on hold with reading with the last few weeks of work craziness, but I’m entered in the TBR Pile Challenge for next year, so I’m counting on that to A:  Cause me to actually commit to a book rather […]

  7. […] Complete the TBR pile challenge.  I have a bad habit (see #2) of not reading because, well, reading is fun and apparently I […]

  8. […] did finish the first book from the TBR Pile challenge list I made, and I’ll be posting a review of The Rebel Prince per the challenge rules soon.  […]

  9. […] “The Rebel Prince” is the first book completed from my list for the TBR Pile Challenge 2012. […]

Leave a Reply

