Row 80 Final Check-in

Hard to believe my first ROW 80 challenge is in the bag.  80 days sounds like a long time, but it really flew by.  So, now it’s time to ante up and see how I did against my original goals.

Never Miss A Check In:  Didn’t do so hot with this one.  Once I fell off the wagon I apparently decided to stay off.  I was leery of stating an absolute such as never, and apparently I was right.  I respond to absolutes like a toddler told to take a nap.  Next round:  Build a little more flexibility for myself, but not too much, so I don’t get…SQUIRREL!  Distracted.

Write 500 Words A Day:  I didn’t make it.  NaNoWriMo totally passed me by this year.  I did a bit of introspection about why this didn’t work for me and how to fix it that I will share later.

WWBC:  Has been on hiatus, but hopfully things will get back on track.  In the meantime I’ve been studying and learning.

Non-Fiction:  Oops.

Blogging:  Haven’t been able to get into a rhythm or schedule, but I’m going to keep at it.  This is related to the 500 word thing, and I’ve learned a few things with this challenge I will be able to apply moving forward.

Taking Care of Myself:  I gained five pounds!  Woot!  Oh, wait.  That’s bad.

Self Study:  Everything has gotten kind of put on hold with reading with the last few weeks of work craziness, but I’m entered in the TBR Pile Challenge for next year, so I’m counting on that to A:  Cause me to actually commit to a book rather than sitting in the middle of my pile sucking my thumb because I can’t choose, and B: Hopefully remind me that reading is fun and I’m allowed to have a little fun.  Just a little.

One unofficial goal I had with this challenge was to reach out to the ROW 80 community and I didn’t do so hot with that, but I volunteered to be a sponsor in the next round, and I’m really looking forward to meeting some new people with some great blogs.

So how about you?  Did you participate in ROW 80, and if so how did your round go?  If you didn’t, think about joining us next round. This is a brilliant idea for a challenge, because dang it, one size has never fit all no matter what the label says! You get to design your own program, and that my friends, is a beautiful thing.  Kait Nolan is a rock star.

See you all soon!

 

15 thoughts on “Row 80 Final Check-in

  1. Hey Callene – You committed to being a part of ROW80 and that in itself is a beginning. You analyzed what it was you hoped to accomplish and set goals. Whether or not you met all those goals this time around is immaterial (… I’m just sayin’) – you got things started. Now you’ve signed on again and agreed to be a sponsor. Ka-chinggg! Progress!
    Onward!
    Have a great Christmas and all the bet for 2012.

  2. That would be “best” …

  3. Howdy, Callene! Ditto what Patricia said. You committed, you tried, and you finished. Life got busy along the way and distractions hit, yet you kept showing up. I didn’t hit all of my goals either and fell down a well of nutty life moments. From my own ROW work and the posts of others, I’ve gotten a much better hold on what works for me. It sounds like you’ve done some reflection and learned some things as well. That is the “win.” Happy Holidays and kudos on being a sponsor for round one of 2012!🙂

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Thanks Barbara! I did learn a lot, and I’m anxious to apply it to the next round and see if I’m right about what I’ve learned. Life is constantly going to get in the way and it’s my job to develop the discipline not to let it.

      Have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. woot woot – ditto to what Patricia and Barbara said. I sort of feel like I had much the same experience. Although I stayed on point for blogging BUT I didn’t WRITE anything much really. So I get…but at the same time, the great thing is that both of us showed up, we learned a ton, and we are going to take those lessons moving forward and do something…that’s AWESOME! I am so excited that you are a sponsor next round…eeeekeee…totally up your alley!!!
    Happy holidays and here’s to way more fun in the blogosphere in 2012!! HUGS!!!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Hugs back to you, Nat! I feel like I learned a ton, and I’m anxious to get back in the swing of things after the holidays. Blogging is fun, but I’m desperate to work out the kinks in this story and start to commit it to paper. That’s going to be the major thing I’m going to apply my efforts to next year.

      Merry Christmas and can’t wait to Rock the ROW with you next year!

  5. You crack me up. Congrats on getting through the round, even if you didn’t make all your goals, you finished it. Good luck next round ~ I’ll be here cheering you on again!

    Love what Natalie said ~ Happy Christmas and looking forward to 2012 and all the craziness we can muster.

  6. CMStewart says:

    Squirrel? Where’s the squirrel?

    Listing and checking up on your goals is progress in and of itself. From here the goal-nailing should come easier.🙂 I hear you on the distractability. lol

    Happy New-

    Wait, did you say “rock star”?

  7. Lesann says:

    I was so ready to woot-woot the five pounds…then I realized….it wasn’t a plus. So bummed.

    At least you stuck with Row80 and have a plan developing for next round! Woot-woot!!

    See you in 2012. Happy Holidays!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      I’ve been doing a lot of stress eating these last few months. A lot of stress at work and at home, and I don’t feel like I ever get a break from it, so it isn’t surprising, but it has to stop. I’m looking forward to applying some of my new knowledge to the next round!

      Thanks for the support!

  8. Wow! Did you know that your willingness to share honestly is an inspiration? We make goals – and that’s a good thing. Sometimes we don’t achieve all we intended, but then we use that as a springboard for next time. I love that ROW80 allows that kind of flexibility – as must life.

    Hope you have a joyous Christmas season.

    See ya next time.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Gosh, thanks! No one has ever said I was an inspiration before! I did learn a lot this ROW 80 and I’m anxious to apply it to the next round, and pay back some of the support I feel I got in this round.

      Thanks for stopping by, and have a Merry Christmas yourself!

      Looking forward to 2012!

Leave a Reply

