Row 80 Round One 2012 Goals

Short and sweet here:

1)  Continue with escalating my wordcount.  My goal this week is 1200 a day, and it will up to 1600 next week.  I fully expect to plateau here, and I’m fine with coasting there for a while until I catch my breath.  My ultimate goal is 3200 a day, but I fully acknowledge it may take the rest of the year to get there consistently.

2) Develop an exercise habit.  I’ve discovered lately I’m becoming all about habits.  It’s so much harder to make a positive one rather than a negative one, because let’s face it, as a species we are all lazy as hell and would rather be snoozing like a cat in the sun.  I don’t quite know how that habit will develop, but I will share the process in the hope that if I can get my lazy a** to do it, then there may be hope for us all.  I fully believe that exercise and eating right will be the key to accomplishing #1.

3) Complete the TBR pile challenge.  I have a bad habit (see #2) of not reading because, well, reading is fun and apparently I inherited a big ol’ Puritan gene and I can’t allow myself to have fun.  Much.  So, completing this challenge will let me get to those books I’ve always wanted to enjoy, but haven’t.  It’ll seem like work, so Puritan gene will lie dormant for a while!

4) Develop my blog, post consistently, and increase my following.  Make that community.  There are some awesome people out there in the blog o sphere and I want to develop new relationships with them.  Again, this will come back to developing a habit of blogging regularly.  At this point, I don’t know exactly what the schedule will be because time is always an issue, but a habit is what I’m after.  We’ll start with a post weekly, not counting the Row 80 check ins.

Ok, so that wasn’t so short and sweet, but I’m totally counting these words in my 1200 for the day!  Woot Woot!

Come on along and join me in this round of Row 80!  I even signed up to be a sponsor, so don’t leave me hanging here, peeps!

Are you with me?

15 thoughts on “Row 80 Round One 2012 Goals

  1. alberta says:

    good goals and I know what you mean about having fun (except of course writing is fun ssh don’t tell puritanical brain -it thinks I’m ‘working’) I too am making sure I attack that TBR pile this year

    all the best for this week

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    Hi Callene,

    I hope you have a great 2012. I like your goals. I’ll see you around WWBC.

    Kerry

  3. Fantastic goals Callene AND you are a sponsor – how awesome is THAT! I love it. You are going to do great and here’s to growing your community!
    So, do you enjoy WWBC? Karen McFarland was encouraging me to check it out and consider it but I couldn’t find much information on the website about how it works. Thoughts?
    Happy ROW80!!!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Thanks, Natalie. Right now WWBC is set with members, but once Kristen has the process pounded into our thick skulls, the plan is to unleash us on the unsuspecting literary world to spread the love. I do know it’s done wonders for me and my writing. I think. LOL! Still pretty new to the process, so we’ll see how everything comes out. Most of the info is on Kristen’s blog as well.

  4. Juli Hoffman says:

    Good luck on reaching your goals! 🙂

  5. papergraffiti says:

    Great word count goal! I must say I am itching to get outlining and research done so I can have a daily word count again too.🙂 I also am trying to (re)establish a workout routine…it’s so hard when I would much rather be lazy! Good luck with your goals this round.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      I know, right? I think it’s almost harder to re establish a routine than it is to establish it in the first place, because we know it will be work!

      Thanks, and thanks for stopping by!

  6. I would be in heaven if I got over 3,000 words a day! I hope you make it. That’s a fantastic goal.

  7. Love your idea of escalating your word count. Mine goes up when actively writing a first draft, then slows down again to 500 inbetween times. Guess I need more ideas. 🙂 Committing to exercise is a great idea. I imagine working with the horses keeps you busy. I’m also working on my mount tbr pile and decided to do a buying ban for 6 months. Oh woe is me, but I’ll get through it. Happy reading and writing.

  8. Callene Rapp says:

    Thanks! I started escalating because I got tired of just sitting stupidly in front of a blank page panicking because I had set my goal too high. I figured it was like running a marathon, you don’t just get up one day and decide you want to run 26 miles, or however long a marathon is.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  9. What a smart way to build your word count! I also like that you are focused on habits. I think habits make me or break me.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

