How about some Un-Resolutions?

New Years resolutions.  Ah, the bane of every eternal optimists existence.  Every new year offers a chance to start over fresh, re-tool our life plans and make this year the one!  The year we accomplish everything on our to – do list!  Lose 10 lbs!  Have clean closets/bathrooms/carpets/muffin pans/whatever!

And for those of you who actually manage to make this happen, kudos to you and let me know when your How-To book comes out and how much caffeine you consumed in the process.

I didn’t make any resolutions this year.  In fact, I guess you could say I resolved to Un-Resolution this year.  I’ve gotten to know myself pretty well over the last few decades, and I know I’m just setting myself up for failure by making an impressive list of things I feel like I need to do to be a better person, and watching myself go down in flames in a week or two.

So this year, I’m focusing on habits.  One habit at a time, and not moving on until the current one is established.  Research indicates that it can take up to 37 repetitions to make a habit.  And that means successful repetitions.  If you want to make a habit of cleaning off your desk at the end of the day, you have to do it 37 consecutive times in a row before that habit is entrenched.  If you miss one time, you have to start over.  Yikes!  No wonder it can take so long to train yourself to make the bed in the morning. Or make it out of bed.

My first habit I wanted to change was daily writing.  I’ve been working on that one since before Thanksgiving and I’m pretty happy with the way it’s going.  It feels as natural as brushing my teeth now, and occasionally it feels so natural I don’t remember doing it, but the words are there.  Also if I don’t do it I behave like an uncaffeinated grizzly bear with PMS, so everyone around me knows I didn’t do it either, kind of like that teeth brushing thing.

How about you folks?  Are you in the resolution camp or the un-resolution camp?

I see a lot of you are joining ROW 80!  Awesome!  Here’s to making some new habits and new friends in 2012!

Callene

4 thoughts on “How about some Un-Resolutions?

  1. Love it! I think each of us has to construct our lives, goals etc in ways in which is works. The key is to evaluate and know what works and what doesn’t, right?! I am not a NY resolution person. I write em’ down and them promptly forget them. LOL!
    So, I decided to try something new this year. I figure I’ll
    work my overall goals into the 4 rounds of ROW80 and see if that works better at helping me keep my goals of writing a novel, maintaining/growing my social media presence, and adopting a healthier, more fit lifestyle at the forefront of my mind and keep me motivated and on point.
    I’ve also been thinking about making a “love list” (blog post coming soon) which is just a list of things I want to do, experience etc…not necessarily just this year but at some point. Like a bucket list! Hubby and I talked about each doing one and merging them together so we can ensure we keep our dreams front and center.🙂
    If it doesn’t work…hmmm…I’ll have to try something next year…LOL!!

    • Callene Rapp says:

      I know, right? Life is a work in progress. I’m glad you are Rocking the ROW with us this year. I like the bi-weekly accountability, I think it helps keep me in the right mindset so I don’t wander off…SQUIRREL!

      Sorry.

      And good for you and hubs on your “love list.” I bet you will find more in common between your two lists than you think!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’m in the un-resolution camp, but like you I’m making habits and working on small goals each day.

    I just read Nancy J. Nicholson’s blog and she’s got a great system for goal setting where you only work on three things for a specific amount of time (90 days for her) and you start with a positive. It was a great post. Also, Kate MacNicol has a cool post on breakthrough goals. So much great information out there right now!

    Best of luck to you with your un-resolutions! Happy 2012, my friend!

  3. I’ve never made goals either. I have a hard time following through on them. But this year I decided to make one goal, and that is to be more proactive in marketing my books. I really hate the idea of marketing myself, completely against my personality, but I must if I want to make sales. So it’s less a New Year’s goal and more of a professional one; it just happens to come with the new year.

Leave a Reply

