Book Review of “The Rebel Prince” by Celiene Keirnan

“The Rebel Prince” is the first book completed from my list for the TBR Pile Challenge 2012.

 

The Rebel Prince

 

 

“The Rebel Prince” is the third book in the Moorehawke Trilogy, following “The Poison Throne” and “The Crowded Shadows.”   The story line follows the efforts of our three protagonists in reuniting an estranged king and his son, before political intrigue and the threat of a deadly new weapon can destroy the kingdom.

And, throw in a few Loup-Garou,  ghosts and a talking cat, and you have a tale of political intrigue, with some strong fantasy elements.

I enjoyed this trilogy quite a bit, and the characters were unforgettable.  From poor, tortured Christopher, dashing Razi, and  Wynter, the young female protagonist;   to the host of secondary characters, they were all richly drawn and had complex, believable backstories.   It is actually a good lesson in how to peel off the layers of backstory one by one to reveal the whole onion, and by the time it is all revealed you are so hooked on the people in the story your heart breaks over and over again for them.

While full of politics and court intrigue, the plot itself was not terribly complicated, but I still found myself turning pages long after my bedtime just because I was so invested in what happened to the characters.

That being said, I found the ending somewhat disappointing.  After the harrowing, bloody climax, we get a denoument five years after, a little slice of life showing the three main characters living their happy ending.  Perhaps because I had invested so much emotionally in them, I wanted a bit longer pay off.  Justice was ultimately served in the end everyone got what they deserved one way or another, but I wanted to see a bit more of how.

I would still recommend this trilogy to anyone interested in young adult fantasy because of the strong characters and strong writing, and I don’t think it’s a bad thing that my only complaint was that I wanted more!

Great characters, strong writing and massive emotional tensions throughout, I would still give “The Rebel Prince” 4.5 out of 5 stars.

6 thoughts on “Book Review of “The Rebel Prince” by Celiene Keirnan

  1. […] The Rebel Prince by Celine Kiernan  completed 1/13/2012 […]

  2. Oooooh, sounds like my kind of trilogy. If it’s on Kindle, i’m downloading tonight. If not, I’m getting them in paperback. Sweet!

  3. I’m going to the library tomorrow and this trilogy will be on my list. Who can resist a talking cat?🙂 Thanks!

  4. Callene Rapp says:

    I think you guys will like them. Let me know what you think when you do get them read. I was crushing on Christopher pretty hard by the end!

Leave a Reply

