Sunday is Horse Day!

A couple of weeks ago, I said I would be back with a new series of posts that I was really excited about.  It took me a little longer to get back than I expected, but I’m here!

As many of you may know, or have guessed, horses have been a big part of my life since I was a little kid. Sometimes a bigger part, sometimes a smaller part, sometimes with more baggage than not.

The last few years have been a big transitional time for my husband and I. We started a farm business four years ago, which has taken off and is doing well, but unfortunately not well enough for me to be able to quit my job and work on the farm full time.  So, the days usually get crammed with the minutia of daily living and trying to stretch a gnat’s a$$ over a barrel as far has having the time to do it all.

And, the horses have gotten shoved onto the back burner.  I’ve got horses who are well past the age where they should have been trained and should have gone on to find productive jobs elsewhere.  I’ve got an eight year old stud horse who I’ll introduce you to soon who really needs to get a job. You think two legged teenagers just like to sit around and eat and don’t want to work!  Ha!

Anyway.  I’ve discovered via a bit of soul-searching lately that I tend to put the things that matter to me on a personal level on the back burner, in order to do the things that Stephen Covey calls Urgent, but not Important.  Yes, taking care of all the essentials of my job and my farm are important, but what he’s talking about is the Important things that you will regret not doing when you look back on your life at the end.  The things you wish were in your eulogy.

The things that are good for your soul.

Horses are good for my soul.  Writing is good for my soul.

And whether or not it’s because there is so much Puritan DNA wound around my double helix, or I’ve just conditioned myself to believe that if I enjoy doing it, it shouldn’t be a priority, that is where we are now.

This represents a step toward getting things right with the world.

I feel better when I write.  I feel better when I work with the horses.  More focused, more passionate, more capable…more me.  I accomplish more because everything is in balance.

Good god, people, imagine how the earth would tremble if I managed to get my writing quota and my riding quota accomplished on the same day!

So.  Back to the blog.  Sunday will be horse day from now on.  I will post about all things horse related, hopefully sometimes funny, sometimes serious,  sometimes off the wall.  I’d also like it to be helpful to writers who may have questions about how to write horses realistically.  Yes, the cliché of the 18 hand black stallion that loves and adores and obeys only our heroine because her little Mary-Sue self gave him an apple one day pisses me off.

Anyway.

If you have horse related questions, let me know, I’m not an expert in everything, but I’ve been around a bit and at least know where to look for the answer.

And, I want to take a minute to introduce you to one of my horses.

Exchanging Gold, aka Mello, is a Quarter Horse stallion who has remained such because he’s never given me a good reason to give him brain surgery.  I’m going to attempt to use my non techno savvy computer skills to imbed a video of him being worked in the round pen.  It’s not edited and there isn’t any lovely music, sorry.  Mello is going to be the top project for the year.  He’s really a good boy, just a little “fresh” in this video.  A friend of mine is working with him, I was filming because I wasn’t allowed in the round pen on my crutches for some reason. ;o)  Mello is being terribly disrespectful, but he’s so smooth and graceful and good-hearted about it, I get a big kick out of watching him.

Hope you enjoy.

In case I flunk YouTube, here’s a picture of Mello.

http://youtu.be/Bg2rLkvLZIY

Thanks for stopping by.  Let me know if there is anything horse related I can answer for you, and remember to do what’s good for your soul!

9 thoughts on “Sunday is Horse Day!

  1. Outstanding! I enjoyed reading Sunday is Horse Day, and looking forward to you taking time to enjoy your passion. Often times we get so involved in the daily grind we forget to save a bit of time for our personal love and enjoyment (and I don’t mean Eric).

    Congratulations and good luck with your plan..

  2. Callene, this is a great idea … and you did not flunk YouTube. It was great fun to watch Mello put through his paces. I love how we all have such different lives and letting us see this side of yours is truly appreciated. I’m looking forward to more. I’ve got a hilarious story to tell you about our racehorse and will send you an e-mail later. Thanks for this!

  3. I also learned about two years ago that I needed writing to nurture my soul. It is definitely one of those important things in my life.

    That’s a great idea to share a little about how to write horses well! I love the name “Exchanging Gold.” A bit of a mouthful, but I’ve heard some really neat horse names.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      Angela, every horse I have ever known has had a registered name and a “barn” name. The registered name is the pretty one, the “barn” name is what they answer to, lol! Some of them are pretty funny.

  4. Naomi Bulger says:

    I love that you are doing things that are good for your soul as well as those that are good for your business. But really, I love that you took me back to memories of my old whaler (an Australian warhorse breed from WWI), who was my best friend throughout my teen years, my 20s and my 30s (he was 38 when he died). The two things that were my greatest release were writing, and getting on that horse and just riding, going bush, for hours on end. I live in the city now, and I’ve never found anything as special as a solitary ride on a horse that knows you so well.

  5. Callene Rapp says:

    I know, right? It’s like they can read your mind. There isn’t anything else like it in the world. Your old friend sounds like a special guy, and what a grand long life! I’d love to hear more about him sometime.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  6. […] everyone!  This is Mello, you met me a few weeks ago.  I’m Callene’s AQHA stud horse.  I guess the elegant term is stallion, but […]

Leave a Reply

