Sunday Horse Day — The Man From Snowy River

It’s hard to believe this movie came out in 1982, 30 years ago.  Time sure flies, doesn’t it?

This is one of my all time favorite movies, based on a classic Australian poem of the same name by iconic Aussie poet Banjo Patterson.

I lost count of how many times I’ve watched it, in part or whole. I know every note of the soundtrack and most of the dialog by heart. The other night hubby couldn’t sleep and was flipping through the channel and happened upon Snowy River, and a three second shot of that soundtrack woke me from such a sound sleep so abruptly it scared the crap out of him.  He didn’t get the remote back until it was over with, until the last note had faded from the end credits. I have a feeling that chase scene could wake me out of a coma.

I remember my riding buddy and I poring over saddlery catalogs, just sure that if we had one of those drafter saddles, we to could Ride Like The Man From Snowy River.  The catalog said so!  We even practiced riding with one hand thrown up in the air like Jim Craig in that climatic scene towards the end.  A great deal of the effect was lost due to the fact that even in northern Missouri, the steepest hill we could come up with to practice on was level by comparison.  Oh, that and we never managed to try that downhill ride at much more than a walk.  We were going to run away to Australia for sure, though.

The cinematography is simply stunning, partly because of the gorgeous landscape of Australia’s mountain country, and partly because of all the horses.  I think there is a horse in nearly every scene.  And some of these sequences are simply so breathtaking you might forget that this was way pre CGI, so everything was happening in the real world.

The story line won’t win any awards for stunning twists, and George R.R. Martin fans will likely be disappointed because nearly everyone survives, but this is really one of the most heartwarming and beautiful movies ever made.  If you haven’t seen it, check it out.

And, here is a reading of the original poem.

http://youtu.be/fZ7V9G0o4ew

Now, if you will pardon me, for some reason I need to go for a ride….

Do you guys have any movies that take  you back?  And for those horse crazy girls that never grew up, is there a horse movie that will live in your heart until you are 110?

6 thoughts on “Sunday Horse Day — The Man From Snowy River

  1. Naomi Bulger says:

    Ah, the memories! In your last ‘horse day’ blog I told you about my old whaler. As a teenager, I absolutely loved that movie. It inspired me to take my horse out and ride at a crazy pace down steep embankments (complete with one hand held high behind me for balance). My poor horse. Thankfully, he loved it, and there were no serious injuries incurred by either horse or human.

  2. Oh yes! I have a couple old movies I love to watch. I can say them nearly word for word but I still love them!

  3. Angela/Curiocat says:

    I love The Man From Snowy River, too. As many times as I’ve seen it I still get chills when man and horse leaps over the side of the mountain and rides down it almost flat against the side. It is an amazing sequence. I read that Tom Burlinson did the stunt himself.

    I’d really love to visit that area someday. The scenery is just gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

