Magical March Challenge

Magical March!

So I apparently love challenges.  I also apparently don’t always do so well at them, because I’m one hell of a starter, but a pretty poor finisher.  I keep trying, though so I get props for either determination or stupidity.  It could go either way.

But the latest challenge should actually be fun, meaning that I will probably not complete it because I also apparently have a puritan streak a mile wide which whispers evily in my ear “If you are having fun, you shouldn’t be doing it.”  I’m working on learning to stuff a dirty sock in that old bat’s pie hole but there isn’t always a dirty sock handy when you need it.

Anyway.

The Roof Beam Reader has given us another challenge which is right up my alley this spring, and the fact that I can get double credit for another challenge I’m doing is a bonus!  Even that old puritan bat can’t argue with that!

Therefore, I give you the Magical March, A Magical Realism and Fantasy Event!

The premise is simple, you read a quantity of books in the specified genre, and you get a nifty title based on how many you read.  Even one counts, but I’m going for Sorceress status, mostly because being called a Sorceress will give that old Puritan bat living in my head an aneurism.   3-5 books qualify for Sorceress status, and the books I’m reading for the TBR pile challenge will qualify!  Take that!

My chosen books are:

Game of Thrones  by George R.R. Martin

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffrey

A Gift of Magic by Lynn Kurland

Lady of Light and Shadows by C.L. Wilson

I debated about the fifth book because rumor has it Game of Thrones is not really light reading, but we’ll see…

This is my latest challenge, and I’m looking forward to starting.  A couple of these have been burning a hole in my nightstand for a long time now.

Just don’t tell that old Puritan bat I’m planning on having fun.  I wanna watch her flip out when that Sorceress badge goes up on my blog!  Mwaaahhhh!

And really!  How the hell is it nearly March already?

14 thoughts on “Magical March Challenge

  1. Glad you’re joining us! I’m finding The Game of Thrones on quite a few challenge lists… I’m looking forward to seeing what all the different thoughts are on that. I haven’t read it yet, but it’s been recommended a few times. Doesn’t seem like my typical kind of book, but who knows?

    Good luck, Sorceress-in-training!😉

  2. Game of Thrones is definitely not “light”. 😉 I didn’t actually care for it, but I didn’t watch the HBO series first. I heard that helps with being invested in the characters.

    Good luck!

  3. I loved Game of Thrones, but yeah, it isn’t a quick read or easy to follow at times. George R.R. Martin is one of my favorite guys to see at Comic-Con and I always want to slap him for making it such a convoluted story. You know it’s a series, right? And that GRRM takes forEVER to write a new book?

    *cough* Have I convinced you to try another book yet? If you’re a big high fantasy fan, check out Brent Weeks’s Assassin series. Not for your challenge, just at some point. If you want a quick fantasy read – check out Angela’s book!

    Good luck darlin’, this should be fun.

    • Callene Rapp says:

      LOL! Yes, I am familiar with GRRM’s penchant for taking YEARS to write a new book. One of my co-workers is a rabid GRRM fan and I suffered along with her for the three or so years it took him to get Dance with Dragons finished AFTER it was supposed to come out. I guess that’s his payback for all that convoluted plotting!

      No, I’m pretty prepared for the journey, and have already been warned not to fall in love with ANYONE. Period. So, for my HEA lovin’ self, this will be an adventure.

      And thanks for the heads up on the other books, Angela’s was already on my list, but I’ll check out the Brent Weeks series.

  4. Woot woot – you go for it Callene – we know you can do it!!
    Also looking forward to some reviews of any great reads!!🙂

  5. Naomi Bulger says:

    How fun. Let us know how you go and what you think of the books.

  6. […] goes with it.  I entered another reading challenge, this time committing to read 5 books over at The Roof Beam Reader’s Magical March challenge.  Oh, and my dumb ass signed up for three online writing workshops. What […]

  7. […] Bummer.  Apparently I didn’t get this posted in time for it to count for the Magical March challenge.  I didn’t remember seeing a deadline, but oh, well.  My bad.  So I won’t get my […]

Leave a Reply

