The above is a repeat of a post I did for the ROW 80 challenge. Be nice to yourselves, peeps, or I’ll send my friend after you!

A Round of Words in 80 Days

 

Until about a couple of years ago I pretty much existed in a writing vacuum.  I didn’t know hardly any other writers.  I hid anything I did write behind a ridiculous pseudonym and refused to put myself ‘out there’ for fear of ridicule and rejection.  But I finally realized that if I were going to actually write and get published, then that was going to be part of the game and I could either get in and play, or continue to ride the bench.

So I cautiously edged out of my comfort zone, took a few online classes, actually stopped using that fake name as my email address, and edged my way into the community of writers.

What do you know…no one sent me packing and told me to go back home where I belong!

I learned that the doubt, insecurity, fear and fragile optimism that I felt, nearly…

View original post 467 more words

5 thoughts on “

  1. Taking that risk is the scariest and most rewarding thing you’ll ever do as a writer. Some people will love your work and some will hate it, but it doesn’t matter as long as you are in love with what you write.

  2. Callene Rapp says:

    Thanks, Tameri! I know in my head that I’m the only one my writing needs to please, but I have such an internal need for validation and approval, that it sometimes takes over logic. I’m getting better, and while I’m sorry to know that others have the same struggles, it does help to know I’m not alone or crazy! Okay, crazy maybe, but not alone!

    p.s. My horse wrote you a note in the comments of his post!

  3. Lish says:

    Next time I’ll hit you harder 🙂

Leave a Reply

