Magical March Challenge book review — A Gift of Magic by Lynn Kurland

Magical March Challenge

Magical March!

I read this book at the beginning of the month, but my schedule has been so eratic this month, I just now am getting around to posting about it.  Sorry!

Gift of Magic by Lynn Kurland is the third book in the second trilogy in the Nine Kingdoms series.  Yes, that’s a lot of math and yes, that will be the last math I’ll subject you to.

Gift of Magic

Gift of Magic is a sweet romance, and the characters are definitely enjoyable. I think the plot was not quite as strong as the first trilogy, there didn’t seem to be quite as much conflict.  But hey, it didn’t promise to be Game of Thrones, did it now? ;o)

Honestly though, I did enjoy the book.  It was a great light read.  Kurland has created a detailed fantasy world, with complex backstory and several systems of magic.  Her story bible for the Nine Kingdoms must weigh a ton!  Hardcore fantasy fans will likely be disappointed because she doesn’t go into as much depgh with the magic as a true fantasy, but romance fans will enjoy emensely. I recommend it for a great, light romantic read, but you should definietly check out the first series too!

Have a great day, everyone!

8 thoughts on “Magical March Challenge book review — A Gift of Magic by Lynn Kurland

  1. Great reviews, Callene. How do you find the time?

  2. Callene Rapp says:

    Ha! Time and I are old enemies. Most days it’s a scramble, but the majority of things get done! Thanks for stopping by! I haven’t had a chance to check out Gulfstream yet, but I will!

  3. I liked the first trilogy and will probably start the second one over the summer. Her books are fun and light, which is great for a beach read!

  4. Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but sometimes it’s really hard to tell–is this adult fantasy or YA? (I’d read it either way, but I’m always curious.)

  5. curiocat says:

    I’ve got the trilogy in my tbr pile. Lynn Kurland is one of my favorite authors. I think I have just about everything she’s ever written.

  6. Callene Rapp says:

    The Nine Kingdoms books are the only ones I’ve read of hers, although I do have some of her other books in that Teetering Mountain I Call The TBR Pile! There just isn’t enough hours in the day, is there? But let me know if you read the Nine Kinddoms books, I’d love to hear what you think!

Leave a Reply

